City Council Candidates for re-election

| February 15, 2021 | Reply

By Mary Jane Farmer, Van Alstyne News, Scene In Town

Van Alstyne City Council has three seats up for re-election, along with that place of the mayor. City Clerk Jennifer Gould responded timely to the request for public information on this upcoming, May 1 election.

All incumbents filed for re-election, and all are running unopposed.

These are:

Mayor: Jim Atchison

Alderman Place 3:  Bruce Dawsey

Alderman Place 4:  Cary “Lee” Thomas

Alderman Place 5:  Katrina Arsenault

One of those, Alderman Place. 3, requires a special election, and will also be on May 1.

The Place 3 seat would normally have come up in 2022, along with those chairs held now held by Ryan Neal and Marla Butler (Places 1 and 2 respectively) Dawsey was appointed to fill the chair vacated by former Council Member Robert Jaska, who resigned to accept a job with the City of Van Alstyne.

Gould explained that there are still two more weeks, or until March 1, for anyone to sign up who wants to run for Place 3 seat on the Council. The reason, she said, is because, “Place 3 would not normally be on the ballot until 2022. Because of this, it is a special election. It (That seat) will be on the ballot again in 2022 for a full two-year term.”

If anyone is interested, that person(s) can pick up a packet at City Hall with applicable information for the potential candidate(s).

There are also seats up for re-election on the Van Alstyne ISD Board of Trustees, however as of this writing, those who signed up have not been made available. That information will be posted when received.


Category: *- Features, Van Alstyne News

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

banner ad