Texas Songwriters To Be Inducted in Hall of Fame

| January 18, 2019 | Reply

Press Release, with courtesy photos

Tickets to the 2019 Texas Heritage Songwriters’ Association Hall of Fame Awards Show went on sale this week. The awards show will be held Saturday, February 23 at the Paramount Theater in Austin.

This year’s inductees include songwriters Christopher Cross, Steve Earle, Billy F. Gibbons, and Bob McDill.

The February awards show promises to deliver an incredible evening of presentations, tributes, and performances by honorees Christopher Cross, Steve Earle, and Billy F Gibbons with Mike Flanigin and Chris Layton. Performances by Shawn Camp, TxHSA Hall of Fame member Rodney Crowell, and Lee Ann Womack will pay special tribute to songwriting honoree Bob McDill.

Recognized as a musician, singer, songwriter, producer and actor, Houston native Billy F Gibbons has unquestionably established himself as one of the finest blues-rock guitarists to ever emerge from Texas. Gibbons has most notably served as guitarist and lead vocalist of American rock band ZZ Top, who produced such hits as “Give Me All Your Loving,” “La Grange,” “Legs,” Sharp Dressed Man” and “Tush,” positioning them as one of the country’s top bands.

A master of writing number-one hits – 31 to be exact – Waldon, Texas, native Bob McDill has been no stranger to country and American pop music. His hits include “I’m Dancing As Fast As I Can,” “Shot Full of Love,” “Runaway Hearts” and “Falling in Love” by Juice Newton; “Gone Country” by Alan Jackson; “All the Good Ones Are Gone” by Pam Tillis; and both “Louisiana Saturday Night” and “Baby’s Got Her Blue Jeans On” by Mel McDaniel, to name a few. In addition to four Grammy nominations, McDill has received Songwriter of the Year Awards from BMI, ASCAP, and the NSAI. In 2012 he was awarded ASCAP’s prestigious Golden Note Award.

Texas’ self-styled culture is unique in ways that are respected and envied around the world, and so is its songwriting. Virtually defining adult contemporary radio, San Antonio native Christopher Cross most notably won five Grammy Awards with his 1979 self-titled debut album, and – for the first time ever – the four most prestigious Grammys: Record of the Year (for the single “Sailing”), Album of the Year, Song of the Year (also for “Sailing”) and Best New Artist.

A definitive Americana artist, Steve Earle, who grew up primarily in the San Antonio area, has turned many musical corners during his illustrious career. Equally acclaimed as a folk troubadour, rockabilly raver, bluesman, honky-tonk rounder, and rocker, he has won three Grammy Awards, including for 2005’s The Revolution Starts Now, 2008’s Washington Square Serenade and 2010’s Townes.

The mission of the Texas Heritage Songwriters’ Association, in the interest of Texas Cultural preservation, is to honor and celebrate Texas songwriters who have played an important role in defining and interpreting Texas’ distinctive culture.
The Association’s Website defines its mission as, “Texas is a special place. Even its shape is iconic, serving as a symbol of independence, friendship, strength, pride, risk-taking, firsts and bests. Texas’ self-styled culture is unique in ways that are respected and envied around the world. It is incumbent on each generation of Texans to maintain this rich heritage for generations to come.

“Texas songwriters, past and present, reflect in rhythm and rhyme, the essence of our culture; they are the poets of their time and have become the symbolic troubadours of our state.”

Grammy Award-winning TxHSA Hall of Fame member Ronnie Dunn will return this year to again serve as master of ceremonies.
Sponsors and patrons can expect an evening celebration packed with performances and appearances from past inductees, Grammy Award winners, renowned songwriters, and recording artists.
These honored Texas artists will join an exclusive group who embody the spirit of Texas through songwriting. Past inductees include the likes of Guy Clark, Mac Davis, Ronnie Dunn, Joe Ely, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson, Lyle Lovett, Willie Nelson, K.T. Oslin, Liz Rose, Allen Shamblin, Billy Joe Shaver, Larry Gatlin, Bruce Robison, Townes Van Zandt, Cindy Walker, and many others. Those are listed, by year, on the Website linked below, and go back as far as Buddy Holly and Roger Miller.
Ticket information is available Online at texasheritagesongwriters.com, by visiting the Paramount Theatre Event Page, or by calling the box office at 512.474.1221.



Category: *- Features

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply

banner ad